DegreeResearch doctorate (PhD)
Exercise Science PhD
University at Buffalo (State University of New York) · Buffalo, New York, United States
- Subjects
- Exercise science
- Price
- Tuition not published
Exercise science focuses on the body’s response to physical activity: how muscles, the heart and lungs, metabolism and the nervous system adapt to training, and how that knowledge is applied to health, fitness and rehabilitation settings. In many countries, and especially in the United States, it is a common pre-professional route for students heading to clinical programs.
Typical coursework covers anatomy, physiology, exercise testing and prescription, nutrition, biomechanics and behaviour change. Programs vary in how much supervised practice they include, and some prepare students for named certifications from professional bodies.
Compared with sport science, exercise science often puts more weight on health, chronic disease and general population fitness; compared with kinesiology it is usually narrower in scope. The three terms overlap heavily, which is why this directory tags programs by what they actually teach.
Typical topics: Exercise physiology, Exercise testing and prescription, Anatomy, Nutrition for health and performance, Biomechanics, Health behaviour.
Also called: Exercise and sport science, Applied exercise science, Exercise studies. These names lead to this one page.
Exercise science is commonly used as preparation for postgraduate clinical study or for fitness and wellness careers. Professional certifications are separate credentials issued by professional bodies and have their own prerequisites.
A sample of what verified programs in this subject say. Requirements differ by program, country and intake.
393 programs
DegreeResearch doctorate (PhD)
University at Buffalo (State University of New York) · Buffalo, New York, United States
DegreeBachelor’s degree
University of Alabama at Birmingham · Birmingham, Alabama, United States
DegreeBachelor’s degree
University of Alaska Anchorage · Anchorage, Alaska, United States
DegreeBachelor’s degree
University of Arkansas · Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
DegreeMaster’s degree
University of Arkansas · Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
DegreeResearch doctorate (PhD)
University of Arkansas · Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
DegreeBachelor’s degreeLong-term
University of Birmingham · Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
DegreeBachelor’s degree
University of Central Arkansas · Conway, Arkansas, United States
DegreeMaster’s degree
University of Central Arkansas · Conway, Arkansas, United States
DegreeBachelor’s degree
University of Charleston · Charleston, West Virginia, United States
Degree abbreviation not stated on the fetched page
DegreeBachelor’s degree
University of Cincinnati · Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Current enrolment availability not confirmed
DegreeMaster’s degree
University of Cincinnati · Online · provider based in United States
Current enrolment availability not confirmed
DegreeBachelor’s degree
University of Colorado Colorado Springs · Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
DegreeMaster’s degree
University of Connecticut · Storrs, Connecticut, United States
Current enrolment availability not confirmed
DegreeResearch doctorate (PhD)
University of Connecticut · Storrs, Connecticut, United States
Current enrolment availability not confirmed
DegreeBachelor’s degree
University of Connecticut · Storrs, Connecticut, United States
Current enrolment availability not confirmed; the page names a concentration, not the full degree title
DegreeBachelor’s degree
University of Copenhagen · Copenhagen, Denmark
Deadline year not stated on the fetched page.
DegreeBachelor’s degree
University of Delaware · Newark, Delaware, United States
DegreeBachelor’s degree
University of Dubuque · Dubuque, Iowa, United States
DegreeBachelor’s degreeLong-term
University of Edinburgh · Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Current-year entry requirements and fees were not on the programme page.
DegreeMaster’s degreeLong-term
University of Glasgow · Online · provider based in United Kingdom
Fee shown on the page for 2027-28 entry; teaching language taken from the English-language programme page.
DegreePostgraduate certificateLong-term
University of Glasgow · Online · provider based in United Kingdom
Fee shown on the page for 2027-28 entry; teaching language taken from the English-language programme page.
DegreePostgraduate diplomaLong-term
University of Glasgow · Online · provider based in United Kingdom
Fee shown on the page for 2027-28 entry; teaching language taken from the English-language programme page.
DegreeBachelor’s degree
University of Hartford · West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Current enrolment availability not confirmed
Results are listed alphabetically. There is no price ranking: prices in different currencies and bases (per week, per camp, per term, per year) are not comparable. Missing details (tuition, admissions, accommodation) never remove a verified listing. Training programs closed to the public are shown only when you ask for them. Online programs are never counted as physically located in a state or city. Items marked Sponsored are paid placements; they never change recognition status, verification or order.