DegreeBachelor’s degree
Communication Media: Concentration Sports Communication (B.A./B.S.)
Austin Peay State University · Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
- Subjects
- Sports journalism
- Price
- Tuition not published
Sports journalism programs teach reporting, interviewing, writing, multimedia production, media law and ethics, and how to cover live events and data-driven stories. They are offered as degrees, postgraduate programs, certificates and short courses.
Some programs sit in a journalism school and some in a sport or media department. Check the entry route: a few are open to anyone, while others expect a first degree or a portfolio.
Industry recognition varies by country; where a professional training body accredits a course, the accreditation is recorded with its source.
Typical topics: News writing, Broadcast and audio production, Media law and ethics, Sports data storytelling, Social media, Event reporting.
Also called: Sport journalism, Sportjournalismus, Journalisme sportif. These names lead to this one page.
Sports journalism has no protected title. Press accreditation for events is decided by the organiser, not by the course.
A sample of what verified programs in this subject say. Requirements differ by program, country and intake.
18 programs
DegreeBachelor’s degree
Austin Peay State University · Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
DegreeGraduate certificateLong-term
Centennial College · Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Program page lists January 2027 and January 2028 availability; the tuition table refers to a Fall 2026 start.
DegreeMaster’s degree
Colorado State University-Fort Collins · Online · provider based in United States
Delivered through CSU Online; whether any in-person component exists was not checked.
DegreeBachelor’s degreeLong-term
Deutsche Sporthochschule Köln · Köln, Germany
DegreeBachelor’s degree
Franklin Pierce University · Rindge, New Hampshire, United States
Current enrolment availability not confirmed
DegreeBachelor’s degree
Illinois State University · Normal, Illinois, United States
DegreeBachelor’s degree
Indiana State University · Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Page states this program will be available beginning Fall 2026.
DegreeBachelor’s degree
Middle Tennessee State University · Murfreesboro, Tennessee, United States
DegreeBachelor’s degree
Quinnipiac University · Hamden, Connecticut, United States
Current enrolment availability not confirmed
DegreeMaster’s degreeLong-term
Quinnipiac University · Hamden, Connecticut, United States
Current enrolment availability not confirmed
DegreeBachelor’s degree
Southeastern Louisiana University · Hammond, Louisiana, United States
Current enrolment availability not confirmed
DegreeBachelor’s degree
Springfield College · Springfield, Massachusetts, United States
DegreeBachelor’s degree
Temple University · Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
DegreeMaster’s degreeLong-term
University of Brighton · Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Entry requirements are printed for 2027 entry while fees are for 2026-27; start dates are not stated on the page.
DegreeBachelor’s degree
University of Charleston · Charleston, West Virginia, United States
DegreeGraduate certificate
University of Florida · Online · provider based in United States
The page sits on the Online M.S. in Sport Management site; it does not state the certificate delivery format in the body text, so delivery online is inferred from the page header only.
DegreeGraduate certificate
University of Nebraska–Lincoln · Online · provider based in United States
The page says both "fully online" and "delivered primarily online", so whole-programme online status is not asserted.
DegreeBachelor’s degree
University of South Dakota · Vermillion, South Dakota, United States
Current enrolment availability not confirmed
Results are listed alphabetically. There is no price ranking: prices in different currencies and bases (per week, per camp, per term, per year) are not comparable. Missing details (tuition, admissions, accommodation) never remove a verified listing. Training programs closed to the public are shown only when you ask for them. Online programs are never counted as physically located in a state or city. Items marked Sponsored are paid placements; they never change recognition status, verification or order.